© 2017

Cilantro: Angélica Castelló & Billy Roisz
MIKROTON CD 53 | 2017

Edition of 300



Mikroton Shop €15


Mikroton Shop €7 Bandcamp iTunes

1. Oruga
2. Whales On Wheels
3. Smoketown
4. Mold 1
5. Prinz Wompe
6. Mold 2
7. Traditional
8. Skrimslo
9. Calypsoblues
10. Lullaby For A Ghost

Angélica Castelló paetzold, ukulele, organ, tapes, electronics
Billy Roisz electric bass, organ, tv, piezzo, computer, electronics

A debut release by Cilantro, an Austrian duo of Angélica Castelló and Billy Roisz, two active persons in experimental music in Österreich. They already appeared on our label in 2014 on Scuba with Burkhard Stangl and dieb13, SQID with Mario de Vega, Attila Faravelli, and Burkhard Stangl, Feedback: Order From Noise compilation in 2014 and on Klingt.org: 10 Jahre Bessere Farben compilation in 2009.

Cilantro presents a world full of enigmas, labyrinths, sometimes abrasive, sometimes ecstatic, a complex and delicate subjectivity. Recorded in a basement in Podersdorf am See, a resort Austrian area, it conjures dark resonances of the space waking up memories hidden inside. "Borderland" deals with blurry edges of contradictory matters coming together and they put under scrutiny the activity in bordering areas between noise and silence, tenderness and rudeness, beat and drone, inner consciousness and outer awareness, control and freedom, forming the pieces by pulling the lever between structure and chaos, beauty and ugliness, demonstrating a thrilling display of human and technological interplay.


Vital Weekly, Frans de Waard:
From a bundle of no less than seven releases I picked these three for this week, and started with the one that from the outside looked like something I never heard of. It turns out that Cilantro is a (new?) duo of Angelica Castello (paetzold, ukulele, organ, tapes and electronics) and Billy Roisz (electric bass, organ, TV, piezo, computer and electronics), both of them not totally unknown in the world of improvised music and reviewed in these pages before. Not a very common list of instruments here, I'd say, and what is perhaps also a bit different is the fact there are ten tracks here, ranging from just a minute to almost twelve. Much of what Mikroton releases, if not all, deals with improvised music and as such I guess Cilantro fits that as well, but somehow, somewhere this also sounds a bit different. Surely much of the material is made through various sessions of improvising together, but I should think Cilantro is also attempting to incorporate more song like structures. This is not your usual hit, scratch and pluck (to say it impolitely) music, but attempting to find a drone, a repeating bass, loops of sound returning, a bit of noise thrown in, some samples being and obviously, no, this is never 'pop music' in anyway a bigger audience would understand, but it is all of these small things combined that makes this quite a wonderful and highly surprising release. Very much thought out and planned, and executed with great care, and this is just an excellent release.